top of page

DIY Clothespin Necklace - under $5


I saw an actress wear a version of this necklace on one of my favorite shows and thought I'd take a stab at making it myself. Turns out, it's super easy! The first thing you need is to get a clasp for your necklace which you can find at any local craft/jewelry making store. I chose gold lobster clasps from Michaels, but you can easily find them at Hobby Lobby or Jo Ann's. Next, select your twine color and the type of clothespins you like. I opted for the mini clothespins this time, but I think it would look super cute with the medium clothespins that I've seen at Michaels.

A packet of clothespins can range from $3 to $4 (don't forget their 40% off online coupons), the lobster clasps were $2.99 for a packet of 5, and I bought the black spool of twine for $1.50. Now all you have to do is assemble --> I cut the twine to the length I wanted for the necklace, and double knotted the ends to the two parts of the lobster clasp. Then, I arranged the clothespins in whatever design I wanted. It works better for the mini clothespins if you string them closer together (as shown in the picture). Otherwise, they tend to flip over and your necklaces looks a bit messy like that. I think next time, I'll mix black and white medium clothespins together and spread them so you can see the twine in between each pin. These would also be great as party favors, Valentine's gifts for your girlfriends or bridal shower favors. You can match the clothespins to the party colors! Let me know if you like the necklace and/or if you made your own!

Recent Posts

bottom of page